Communications Strategy

• Communications Strategy

Hello Hxe,

I would like to make a few suggestions regarding how you can improve engagement with the community and mitigate future instances like the spectacular explosion in response to the Siege Currency update.

Background

You guys are a software development company, in gaming, with a passionate player base. There has been a lot of feedback regarding the need to improve communication and engagement. Here is a sequence of actions that I've modified based on the process I use at my work. I'm a Business Analyst, and I act as a liaison between a number of different stakeholder groups across multiple projects. This approach has worked well for me across projects and industries.

The process

1. At the end of every month, make a thread with a curated list containing:
        • Proposals from the posts in the feedback forum
        • Ideas that the devs/design team are thinking of implementing - with the understanding that there is no commitment to deliver, just an idea at this stage
      2. Provide a mechanism that allows players to vote for these proposals in the curated list (maybe a 2 vote per person system) - to get an indication of how much 'noise' each proposal is creating
      3. At the end of 48 hours, close the voting and display the results
      4. In a fortnight, post a thread outlining the decisions from the dev/design team regarding those proposals including a line or two behind the rationale
      5. Keep the 2-way communication going
      6. Be real with your communication. Tell people where they're being unrealistic, Call out bullshit when you see it, Be flippant where you can... it makes it all more legit and helps build the relationship
      7. Don't forget that the relationship is what will help you overcome difficult periods